King House

One of the earliest surviving substantial townhouses in the province of Connacht, King House was built for Sir Henry King MP (c. 1681–1739) between 1720 and 1740.
It was subsequently home to Edward King MP (1726–97), first earl of Kingston; the Kings became one of the premier landowning families in Ireland.

 It is a unique visitor centre that not only tells the story of this important house as a home to the King family and later a barracks to the Connaught Rangers, but also displays important cultural collections and Irish history exhibitions.

During its lifetime many different people have lived in the house and it has had many different roles: as a family home, a military barracks, an office, and even as a store.

Meet the founding members of the King family, enjoy the grandeur of their Georgian home and discover how the house was adapted to become headquarters to the Connaught Rangers.

Exhibitions tell the story of Gaelic Ireland before the King family arrived in Boyle and and go on to explore the role that King House and Boyle played during the struggle for Irish independence.

The design of King House is attributed to William Halfpenny (d. 1755), an assistant to the renowned Sir Edward Lovett Pearce (d. 1733). Although built in the Palladian style, replete with classical detailing, Venetian windows and a pedimented roof line, the house retains a seventeenth-century fortified character.


Adults: €10
Group Adults (group of 10 or more): €7 per person
Senior / Child / Student: €7
Family (2 Adults and 3 Children): €30

Source and image credit: King House Interpretative Galleries and Museum