History/ Heritage Forum

The History Heritage Forum came about as a result of a cross-border project between Mid Ulster District Council and Donegal County Council exploring links through the shared heritage of the O’Neill and other Ancient Clans and the subsequent Plantation of Ulster.

The Forum is made up of history/heritage groups from each Council area and members have contributed to the development of this website by suggesting heritage sites, providing information, images and producing short videos to introduce some sites.

History Heritage Groups

  • Donegal
    • Ballybofey and Stranorlar historical society

      Contact: Kathleen Phelan

    • Cineal Eoghain Inishowen

      Contact: Dessie McCallion

    • The Colgan Heritage Group (Carndonagh)

      Contact: Hugh Farren

    • Culdaff and Cloncha Heritage Group

      Contact: Neil McGrory

    • Donegal GAP Heritage and History Group

      Contact: Paula Harvey

    • Fahan Heritage Group

      Contact: Colm Ó Tuathaláin

    • Kilar Heritage Committee Coiste Oidhreachta Chill Chartha

      Contact: Sean O'Beirne

    • Leitir Corn Mill, Kilcar

      Contact: Patrick McBrearty

    • McGinley Clan of Donegal Group

      Contact: Proinsias Mag Fhionnghaile

    • Newtowncunningham & District Historical Society

      Contact: Stewart McClean

    • Red Hugh O'Donnell Association

      Contact: Sean Browne or Eddie Crawford

    • Rathmullan Historical Society

      Contact: Michael Connolly or Aine Deeney

    • Raymochy Parish Historical Society

      Contact: Charlie Gallagher

    • Sean O Brogan

      Contact: Sean O Brogan

    • Sliabh Sneacht Centre

      Contact: Gabriel Doherty

    • Travel Donegal

      Contact: Amanda Clarke

    • Ulster Local History Trust (UHT) Donegal Historical Society

      Contact: Sean Beattie

    • West Inishowen Historical Society

      Contact: John Hegarty

  • Tyrone
    • Aughnacloy and Traugh

      Contact: Heather Montgomery

    • Broughderg Area Development Association

      Contact: Sean Clarke

    • Caledon Regeneration Project

      Contact: William Beattie

    • Cinéal Eoghain

      Contact: Martin Mellon

    • Clans of Ulster

      Contact: Siobhan O'Neill

    • Clogher Historical Society

      Contact: Jack Johnston

    • Desertcreat Church of Ireland

      Contact: David Bell

    • Eglish Historical Society

      Contact: Rose Mary Logue

    • Killeshial and Clonanesse

      Contact: Brendan Holland

    • O’Neil Country Historical Society

      Contact: James Kane

    • Stewartstown and District Local History Society

      Contact: Aidan Fee